SDA friend?

I’m friendly, at a pretty initial stage, with a guy who’s a pretty dedicated SDA. I’m also male, and Catholic.

My take on this is to just give him the “in this day and age, I’m glad ANYONE is religious and faithful to his religion” approach (which I believe in; I’m not a big proselytizer).

But what if he starts getting into heavy duty stuff, rather than just letting well enough alone?

Just have a good solid understanding of what Catholicism teaches. Be firm in what you believe and always speak to him clearly, honestly and with CHARITY.

If he asks you questions about Catholicism and you do not know the answer. Tell him that you don’t know but will find out and get back to him in x many days. Keep to your word.

If he makes comments about scripture and you are unsure what to think about that or what the Church teaches then just tell him that you need to chew on it. Write down the passage and read them in context to scripture. See if there is any “Catholic Opinion” on it. Later if he asks you can tell him yeah I thought about it and read some things on it. And this is “MY opinion” on it.

That is all I can offer. It works with all people you talk to regardless of religion or creed. :slight_smile:

I’d also like to add that SDA’s that I’ve spoken with like to make references to obscure historical information about what the RCC has taught/declared in the past.

You might want to be prepared to do some historical “digging” to answer some of what is said. The internet goes a long way in helping. The online EWTN document libraries are very nice, as are Catholic Answers and Patrick Madrid’s websites.

Mommyof02green has some good suggestions. Perhaps I can tell you about some accusations an SDA pastor made to me regarding the Catholic Church - these are some specifics you can get yourself up to date on:

1. Catholics are cannibals because they believe in the true presence of Christ in the Eucharist.