Seattle Children’s Hospital Suing Obamacare after Denying Coverage to Kids

Some perspective here. Seattle Children’s is THE regional children’s hospital. I am a nurse in another part of the State of Washington. Children’s is where all our complex cases are referred. ANY child in our ER with a complex medical problem gets referred to Children’s.

Another perspective— Western Washington is firmly a Democratic, Obama loving stronghold.

Seattle Children’s Hospital is taking legal action to correct a “false promise” of Obamacare. With only two out of the seven plans offered under Washington State’s health-care exchange covering treatment at the hospital, one of the state’s key providers of specialized pediatric care, it will sue the state’s insurance commissioner for “failure to ensure adequate network coverage.”

“The exclusion of a major provider like Seattle Children’s for a major insurance network in this market is unprecedented,” said Dr. Sandy Melzer.

nationalreview.com/corner/370734/seattle-childrens-hospital-suing-obamacare-after-denying-coverage-kids-andrew-johnson

Very interesting to see this happening in the state of Washington - where people seem to worship Obama. Yet, we are seeing the ill effects of Obamacare and even liberals seem to be having second thoughts. This gives me hope.

Ishii

Where are the parents in all of this? How could they not have known Seattle Children’s was not in network? Every insurance site I have visited recently, and healthcare.gov as well, advises on how to choose a plan and part of that advice is to check which providers are in network.

If the children were not able to get care period, I could see a problem, but if the parent had a chance to choose a plan with Seattle Children’s on it and they chose not to (or could not afford the plans that include it), then of course they have to take their kids elsewhere.