Secular Institutes?

As some of you probably know, I've been discerning a vocation for quite a while. Originally I wanted to be a Franciscan order priest because I admire the values and virtues that come with poverty. But then again, I discovered these things called secular institutes. I admire them because they are in the world fighting injustice in society and other such things and originally I wanted to be a psychologist, but the thing is I'm not a very social person and I don't see what good I can do for a secular institute. I probably have more discerning to do but there are so many other options besides those two.

Is my wording here correct? Im very new to the options of vocations. Until recently, I wanted to be a Franciscan order priest.

[quote="Living_Stats, post:2, topic:287741"]
Is my wording here correct? Im very new to the options of vocations. Until recently, I wanted to be a Franciscan order priest.

[/quote]

If you enter a religious order, which the Franciscans are, you should feel called to the order. The priesthood is something extra. For Dominicans and Carmelites you may feel called to both the priesthood and the religious life as lived by these orders and there will be no problem as both are clerical orders. The Franciscans are not a clerical order so when you enter it you do not do so with the intent of being ordained. Your superior and formators will determine if you are called to be a priest within the order but you will always be first and foremost a friar.

Carmelites do not really have much distinction within the daily working of the order between the brothers and priests, we are all friars, but the priests do out number the brothers.

Brother JR can give more information on the Franciscans and I welcome any corrections in what I said here if it is wrong.