Settling in with a new Anglican church

Hello to everyone!

I am new to a new ACNA church--the church was started last month. I come to this Anglican church, feeling both at home and on an adventure. My spiritual path, as my screen name suggests, is one that has led me in and out of several congregations, traditions, and, of course, spiritual growth through solitude. Some of my church traditions include Baptist, Wesleyan, Pentecostal, and Episcopal.

In the past I have filled my spiritual hours with the study of theology and Biblical interpretation. Now, my spirituality is almost exclusively devoted to praying the Divine Office, reading Scripture, and attending services at the new Anglican church in my community. I also have interests in backyard astronomy, nature, hiking, and bird watching.

The Bible translations I frequently use these days include the following (in order of personal preference).

[LIST=1]
*]Jerusalem Bible (JB) (1966)
*]New Revised Standard Version (NRSV) (1989)
*]King James Version, Cambridge University Press (KJV) (1990, 1995)
*]New International Version (NIV) (1984)
[/LIST]

I consider my spiritual bent to be contemplative. An Episcopal priest once told me that the church has never known what to do with contemplatives, except to provide monasteries for their unique spirituality. Well, I am married with two children and three grand children--so, a monastery is not an avenue open to me.

If you want to put a current label on me, how about Anglican Contemplative or Scottish Monk.