Shorts at weekday Mass

This Spring I’m planning to start attending weekday Mass on a daily basis. Since early mornings in Texas can be quite humid and hot, I was considering wearing shorts to Mass since I will be walking (1 1/2 miles each direction) to and from the church. The shorts and tops will be relatively dressy and in good taste.

I would never consider wearing shorts to Sunday Mass, but was wondering if you guys think it would be acceptable for weeday Mass.

When it’s hot in the summer I sometimes wear shorts to daily Mass. Then again, I go to a Newman Center where the atmosphere is slightly more relaxed.

[quote=wynd]When it’s hot in the summer I sometimes wear shorts to daily Mass. Then again, I go to a Newman Center where the atmosphere is slightly more relaxed.
[/quote]

That’s a good thought. My parish is about 1/2 mile for the college I graduated from. It’s been almost 30 years since I was in school and I think there was a Newman Center at that time, but I don’t think there is, now. In that case, my parish probably serves as the university’s Newman Center. I know I’ve heard my priest address “students” in Sunday Mass and I had the distinct impression that he was talking about the college students.

I lived in South Texas for almost 7 years, it is soooo hot and humid! I absolutely see no problem with wearing shorts for daily Mass as long as they are tasteful (on the dressy side like you said).

P.S. - drinks a lot of water too since you’ll be doing all that walking, Texas heat is hell…lol.

Shorts no issue. Artificial clothing codes which take no account of climate and locations is not what the Church intends. The key issue is an appropriate degree of modesty and discretion and more importantly your spiritual approach - ie what is going on in your head

If it means going to Mass and not going…off you go, however it would not be the preferred option.

The old Catechisms said as much for workmen going in working clobber, better to go than not at all.