Should a Catholic university have a LGBTQ student organization?

I am a freshman at a liberal Jesuit university. Our school does have a gay rights club and is very accepting of the gay community. In fact, one of our more popular events is a drag show the club puts on for gay rights month :banghead: We also have a large amount of homosexual students.

Apparently, the University of Notre Dame does not include LGBTQ students in their anti-discrimination clause and they do not have a LGBTQ student organization. Our student body senate will be voting next week to support the LGBTQ students of Notre Dame and urge them to include these students in their anti-discrimination clause and to allow them to have a LGBTQ student organization. They say ND must do this because of the social justice teachings of Mother Church.

I am a senator and would like to get a Catholic response on how I should vote. I’m leaning towards no, but would like to voice my well formed thoughts on this before the vote.

Any thoughts/opinions?

Should a Catholic university have a gay rights club?

Absolutely NOT!

Should a Catholic University also have a “Euthanasia Club”, or a “Future Abortionists for Women’s Rights” for a medical department?

No.

Gay rights, unless we are talking human rights, are the direct opposite of Catholicism.

Drag shows? Gay Rights Month?

What happened to love the sinner, hate the sin? This sort of behavior and approval only encourages sin and sends people on a path straight to Hell.

Disgusting that such a vote should even be entertained in a Catholic university.

1 Like

If the LGBT club is only there to fight bullying against homosexuals, then they are okay. However, I have never heard of an LGBT club that does that. The vast majority of these clubs are in support for Homosexual unions and name calling to those against homosexual marriages. So obviously, voting to help these LGBTQ students is probably a BIG NO-NO!