Should I Leave My Law Practice to Write About the Faith

Hello all;

I've been a moderately successful practicing attorney for the past 15 years. But for quite a while I have felt called to do something else with my life. My satisfaction with my chosen career and profession has also been steadily declining over the past few years. More and more, I feel like I am being called to do something in the field of evangelization and apologetics, perhaps writing. But I'm not sure exactly what it is I'm being called to do. Plus, I have a real fear of harming my family by walking away from the steady income of a legal career - especially in today's economy.

Can anyone share some practical advice with me about how to discern if this is a true calling to something else, or just job "burn-out" coupled with a midlife crisis?

Peace,
Robert

I think you answered your own question when you said you wanted "practical advice".

God does call some people to be lawyers. He does not only call people who "aren't good enough for apologetics and evangelization" to be lawyers.

If you need a career change, go for it! But just remember, everything, including what you do not only for an income but all works of evangelization and apologetics, must be ordered to this. The Church does not need another layperson who gets so caught up in "saving souls" that he neglects his family - we have too many of these as it is!

I suggest that you do some writing of articles while you continue your law practice. Submit them to some publications and see what kind of response you receive. If the response is favorable, try doing the writing part time for a while and see how it goes.

Part of evangelizing is being a credible witness to the faith, which includes supporting your family. Make certain your writing can do that before you jump in with both feet.

Betsy

James 5:20; Remember this: Whoever turns a sinner from the error of his way will save him from death and cover over a multitude of sins.