Should I stick with current job, switch to a new one, or do I'm doing and go to school?

First, I hope I put this in the right forum. That being said–currently, I work as an assistant manager in a fast food restaurant. The pay isn’t great, but I know that, if I work hard, opportunities for advancement and great salaries are definitely there. The other opportunity I have is pest control. The way the guy wants to hire me is to replace someone. No one there, other than him and me, knows that. I think that’s a bit shady. Plus it’s a frachise and small. Not really guaranteed work, you know. The job I currently have is with a very strong company and it’s not going anywhere. The other option I may have, not too long from now, is keeping what I’ve got, but go back to college as well. My wife seems to think I should stick with what I’m doing and see where it takes me. She thinks, in our situation, a degree would be a waste of time and money. With my job, the hours are long and tiring. But the employment is stable. Also, the company is HUGE. They own roughly 300 restaurants (technically a franchise…but BIG). So, opportunity for advancement is quite good. Plus a degree might be helpful in getting an office job. Bottom line? I have no clue what to do.

Don’t switch to the other job, it doesn’t sound like the opportunities to advance would be there. Plus, the work itself would be spraying poison in bug-infested houses, and if there are no bug infestations there is no work.

Why does your wife think college would be a waste of time and money? If you are not happy with your current job, you should try to find something you will be happy with. But the pest control thing just sounds like a bad idea.

At the pest control job you will be at the whim of the owner, who doesn’t sound like a person with integrity. You also have no future.