Should we ask for signs when we pray?

Trying again…

Hello all,

I asked this question in the AA forum, but I guess it was the wrong forum. I am coming in to the faith, have learned much, and have much to learn, still. Here is my question: Suppose we are praying about something big like a career or job change, and don’t quite know if it is right for us. Are we, as Catholics, supposed to ask God for some sort of “sign” that we are in or out his will for us with regard to praying for certain things? Are there scriptures that discuss this? I happen to know some Catholics that do this, and am wondering if this is really the way God works.

Thanks in advance,
Sherilo

I am not an expert on prayer, but I’ll share my thoughts.

First, God already knows what you want and need - that’s not why you want to pray to Him. God wants you to pray to Him because He likes talking to you! So get into the habit. Just like with anyone, if the only time you talk to them is when you want something, your conversations will be less effective.

Second, your will doesn’t mater - only God’s does. So you can ask for something, and it’s only if God wills it to be so, will it happen. Add on top of this, that God loves us all infinitely, repeat infinitely, so whatever is done is what is best for us overall. So for example, it may actually be correct for you to take the job that turns out crummy, for example - in God’s will, you will learn a life experience that is very valuable to you, or you will make an impact on someone’s life, or you will meet a friend - you don’t really know the whole picture with God, and probably won’t until you get to Heaven.

So, given all this: