Shout out to musicians

I’m a guitarist, something of a keyboardist, I play bass, and I’m a vocalist (I’m majoring in classical voice in college).

Any other musicians out there? How many of you play secular music? How many play Catholic/Christian music?

I gave up secular music because I came to the conclusion that by playing in bars and nightclubs, I was not giving a good Catholic example, but only empowering those who do lascivious and illegal things in these places, and putting myself near temptation. I’m not saying this is true of all secular musicians, this is just where I’ve arrived spiritually as a Catholic and a musician at this point in my life. My brother plays with a secular group (drums) and has my full encouragement.

I plan on recording a Catholic/Christian hard rock-metal album. I might even do prog metal.

My influences are David Bowie, The Beatles, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, Eddie Van Halen, B.B King, Muddy Waters, Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck, David Gilmour, Ted Nugent, Tommy Emmanuel (Australian guitarist), a Spanish singer named Raphael, and all the classical music I’ve listened to, particularly the composers and classical singers such as Mario Lanza and Jussi Bjorling.

The only Christian artist I’ve been listening to is Neal Morse (I’m new to the Christian rock scene and have a thing for prog rock). I also like Dream Theater, Liquid Tension Experiment, Transatlantic, Tin Machine (not prog and quite passe, I know), Racer X, and Symphony X.

waves Hello!

My husband and I are both musicians but it’s more of a passionate hobby than a career. We met in high school marching band and the music just never stopped. DH has some pro audio equipment and one of the bedrooms in our apartment has studio foam all over the walls.