Sin of sloth

When it comes to your non-spiritual life, what makes a certain amount of laziness “sinful”?

I’m a student in high school. is it sinful if I decide not to do my homework? Is it sinful if I don’t pay as much attention in class as I should? I struggle with this back-and-forth because to me, sometimes these things just don’t feel worth it. For example, if I’m in French class, and the teacher is doing a lesson and assigns homework on reflexive verbs, and I can already use reflexive verbs proficiently, how important is it that I pay attention, take notes, do the homework, ect? Homework is only 10% of the grade so it’s really very easy to skip assignments here and there and still get an A. If I’m in algebra 2 class, and the teacher teaches a lesson on graphing a geometric sequence, and by the end of the lesson I fully understand what’s going on…why do I need to do the homework? It feels redundant and a waste of time.

I appreciate the need for homework in classes like English and theatre. I work on and put plenty of effort into writing essays, preparing monologues, ect. It’s different because in English and theatre, the homework is to directly practice what you are training to do. That’s not the case in a fill-in-the-blank French worksheet or an algebra 2 problem set. Those are just busy work.

Is this laziness? Or is this using my time wisely? Is this the sin of sloth, or no?

I am also a High School student that deals with the same thing. Sometimes I don’t want to do some of my work and sometimes I put off doing my work until the last day before its due. I know Sloth is one of the seven deadly sins so it must lead to more larger sins. Next time I go to confession I am going to confess to being lazy in my school work.