Sinful TV

My mom and I are both conservative Catholics. However, she likes to unwind after work and watch TV. This in itself is not bad, but some of the TV she watches is quite sinful. I, on the other hand, ended up phasing out all TV and movies that had a sinful message or portrayed a lot of sin for no good reason--not because I'm holier than anyone else, but because seeing it is like a punch in the gut.

I've tried talking about my concern for her, but this hasn't worked. What do you think?

After I graduated college and during the brief few months I lived at home, I had this problem too.

The best thing to do, is find a good TV show that's clean, buy the DVDs for it, and then suggest that you guys watch an episode of that instead. Or you can connect your laptop to your TV and hulu something instead.

Basically, get it into a situation where you can control what is being watched. I found my Mom was just happy to get to do something with her son and was pretty agreeable to what we watched, I'd just politely steer away from the more risque stuff.

You could also try just outright telling her it's a problem. Sometimes women are just blissfully unaware of how tempting something can be for a guy.

if she is an adult and it is her house and TV she can watch what she watches. you can comment, but you cannot tell her what to do. You can say, mom watching this garbage is like a punch in the gut for me, so I am going to my room to read for a while.

[quote="puzzleannie, post:3, topic:246515"]
if she is an adult and it is her house and TV she can watch what she watches. you can comment, but you cannot tell her what to do. You can say, mom watching this garbage is like a punch in the gut for me, so I am going to my room to read for a while.

[/quote]

I already thought of that, and that's not my problem. I read that sinful TV and movies aren't good for a person's spiritual growth, and I was wondering if there was anything I could do.