Singing in Choir = Mass Attendance?

I’m new to the faith, and in RCIA at my local parish. Just this week, I joined the chorus and am excited for Mass this Sunday.

My question is: obviously, I’ll be at Mass, but does this attendance really count? I think I’m actually going to “miss” being in the pews and participating … I’m just not sure if I should be attending another Mass (Saturday vigil, or one earlier in the morning) to fully participate and ensure that I’m fulfilling the Mass attendance requirement as a Catholic. Since I’m new … I want to start out with good habits!

Thanks for your input!
Matt

Yes, it definitely counts! There is no requirement to be sitting in a pew; the requirement is to be there. In most (if not all) choirs, you will still say the responses, listen to the readings and the homily, receive Communion (once you are accepted into the faith) and so on. That’s going to Mass. You’ll just be doing more as a member of the choir – but the priest and the deacon are also doing more, and you can be sure that their “attendance” at Mass “really counts”!

Thanks for the quick response, Mark!

No problem (as a choir member, I have a vested interest in this topic!) I should mention that if your choir did something really bizarre like leave the church during the parts when you weren’t singing, that would be a different matter, but other than that it is universally recognized that attending Mass in the choir constitutes attending Mass.

Blessings and good luck on the rest of your journey in the Church!

I have to chuckle, and I’m not making fun, I just find your POV refreshing Matt. So many people have the idea that to be participating at Mass, you have to be “doing” something, like reading, being in the choir etc.

When I led RCIA, we eventually recommended that the catechumens NOT join a Church group until after they’d been baptized/received sacraments.