Social Justice and Teacher Pay

As I have studied the principles of Catholic Social Justice, I am confused at this issue. Partially because I am in the middle. I am a Catholic School teacher. If we are valuable and should be compensated for our work, why are CSTs paid such abyssmally low salaries?

I think some of it comes from the school formally employing nuns as teachers. But, I don’t know. Any thoughts?:confused:

My personal opinion is that teachers should have one of the highest pay grades (but very strict regulations on who can teach).

Teachers are responsible for a very large part of our future, and should be treated as such.

I work in a Catholic school and I think I have the best job in the world.

And yes, I made a lot more money at my last job.

Here is where the social justice comes in: we live in a free society, where we can take any job we wish, or leave any job we wish.

Social justice finds its greatest expression in a free economy.

IMHO

[quote="crm114, post:3, topic:181647"]
I work in a Catholic school and I think I have the best job in the world.

And yes, I made a lot more money at my last job.

Here is where the social justice comes in: we live in a free society, where we can take any job we wish, or leave any job we wish.

Social justice finds its greatest expression in a free economy.

IMHO

[/quote]

and with teachers, like most things, you get what you pay for. The best thing about teaching at a Catholic school (I've found) is that you generally have less of the total BS to deal with like breaking up fights, having chairs thrown at you, called every name you can imagine, spit on, punched, had thing stolen, etc.

I agree with Tnystrom, that Catholic teachers are under paid, and disagree with Luternteach, because from my experience 6 year for me and 12 years for my son, we got more than be paid for. Outstanding dedicated teachers who focused on the basic's, demanded performance and truly cared.