Sola Scriptura: It's Found in the Bible and an Idiot Can Practice It

**Hey Ho, Here we go!

I see that most Catholics are confused and disillusioned by the idea that “Sola Scriptura” cannot be practiced. I can assure you that such is the nonsense of an misunderstanding apologist wishing for someone to fall into the trap of the Golden Index Syndrome. I’m quite new to this arena and I think that we should see and view this nonsense and bring it on.

First things first, Sola Scriptura is a principle that implies that
we should stick to the subjects that were addressed by God through the Bible. If there are traditions, they shouldn’t be binding to the Christian. I know quite well of the 2 Thessalonian quote most Catholics are going to use as “evidence” but that’s not going to support the idea that some “divine” traditions were mentioned in the Bible and the rest passed down orally.

Secondly, Sola Scriptura doesn’t mean that we’re going to get a perfect oneness in interpretation of scripture. People are bound to interpret things differently whether there be an “infallible” guide or not. Even if the answer is clear on a certain issue, people are going to question it anyway because of ignorance.

Finally, if we don’t abide to Scriptures alone, then we’re going to produce such false systems (Edited by Moderator) and re-interpret things without such evidences helping things out. Thus, Sola Scriptura must be practiced.

Parker**

The main problem with Sola Scriptura is, besides the fact that it’s not in the Bible, is that the Bible wasn’t officially completed until around 300 AD. The only Scriptures that had been officially put together were the books of the Old Testament. But there was no actual New Testament canon by the time of Paul’s ministries and the letters from Peter, James, or John.

The Bible is a book of the Catholic Church. No false system here.

Micki