Sola Scriptura - what do you think is the BEST argument?

We have all heard many arguments against the Protestant concept of Sola Scripura. What do you think is the one, single, best argument against the concept and in favor of the Catholic position?

Hi:

You might find the following link to an article on my website interesting:

catholicxjw.com/socraticdialog.html

Jeff S.

P.S. I grew up in Covington, LA. I graduated from Covington High School in 1985 and went to Southeastern LA University. If you want to touch base email me at jschwehm@catholicxjw.com

Certain approaches will impact certain people harder than others, so I wouldn’t say that there’s one single best reason.

I think the one that makes people stop in their tracks as soon as they hear it is pointing out that you cannot determine which books belong or do not belong in the Bible by going by the Bible alone.

geocities.com/thecatholicconvert/solascriptura21.html

[quote=cjaubert] What do you think is the one, single, best argument against the concept and in favor of the Catholic position?
[/quote]

36,000+ protestant divisions.:wink:

For this exprotestant who was Bible alone,or Sol***o*** Scriptura, the best argument was from the Bible. I would not even look at anything that wasn’t in the bible. Truly, history while interesting is not inspired. One thing I knew, with a supernatural grace from God, was that the Bible was His inspired word.

2Thess 2:15 hold fast to tradtions, whether oral or by letter

Jn 21:25 not everything Jesus said recorded in Scripture

These two verses sealed my walk back to the Catholic Church.

But as someone else says, each person is different, for others history may be the key.

God Bless,
Maria

Mickey put it in a nutshell. Let me expound on it.

The RCC which holds to Sacred Scripture and Apostolic Tradition has unity.