Soldier considering converting, but hesitant?

I’m a soldier, as well as a devoted student of history.

I’ve been feeling a need for something higher in my life, and I feel extremely drawn to the Catholic faith for a variety of reasons I won’t bother listing here.

I have a few qualms. I read the news daily, and what I see coming from the Vatican disturbs me somewhat. Particularly what seems to be a devoted interfaith outreach policy.

I don’t paint an entire people with one brush, but the pope seems either unwilling to throw his power behind the Christian victims of ISIS and arab governments in general, or is blind to the problem. He even invited muslim clerics to pray within the Vatican!

For those of you who don’t know, a muslim consecrates the ground he stands upon before he prays in the name of Allah. Without sounding overly dramatic, when I heard that, I thought of the millions of Christians killed by muslims throughout the years, and the hundreds of thousands of Christian soldiers who fought and suffered and died at Constantinople, at Vienna, at Lepanto, and all over the middle east and Europe to prevent muslims from gaining power in Rome. And then the pope just lets them walk right into St. Peter’s.

Is this still a faith that stands by and defends its values? I’m starting to feel like this is becoming yet another “feel-good” church that panders to the masses in exchange for converts. And I’m not sure if that’s something I’d want to be a part of.

First, thank you for your service to our country. My son is a United States Marine currently returning from a Middle East deployment.