Some personal reflections on Catholicism and Mormonism.

Hello again Casen,

From the thread on the BoM forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?p=717931#post717931 ] you requested the following:

I would be interested, perhaps in another thread, in hearing what you feel you gave up and also gained by choosing RCC over CoJCoLDS in terms of doctrine. For example, I’d have a real problem giving up the beautiful doctrine found in D&C Section 76 which describes the Plan of Salvation in so much detail and for which I’ve received a personal witness (but I’m no expert on Catholicism so perhaps there is something similar in Catholic teachings, considering the Bible talks of “many mansions”).

That’s just an example but I’m curious if there were items taught in the D&C or PoGP you felt you were “giving up” or RCC beliefs that differ from LDS beliefs that you are grateful to have gained. Your answer might help me better appreciate the RCC.

Me: Wow, interesting, but complex, and tough questions to answer. I will give it a shot, but please keep in mind that much of I will have to say is very subjective. Here goes.

D&C 76 expounds the three degrees of glory/heaven from the LDS perspective. Though I have found no explicit official teaching (i.e. Ecumenical councils and/or *ex cathedra *Papal decres) on degrees in heaven, I personally find solid evidence in the scriptures for such a belief.

For instance, we find 3 distinct rewards/degrees in Jesus’ parables of the “talents” (Matt. 25:14-30), and of the “pounds” (Luke 19:11-27).

There is also the Pauline reference to what appears to be 3 distinct rewards/degrees; “There is one glory of the sun, and another glory of the moon, and another glory of the stars” (1 Cor. 15:41).

And we have some very interesting thoughts on this issue related to us by St. Irenaeus: