Someone who is converting to another church can receive Confession?

Hello all,

Let me give you some background for my question first.

I am Catholic, but am seriously considering conversion to the Orthodox Church. I have been going to Divine Liturgy for the past six months or so. However, since I am not yet Orthodox I cannot receive the sacrament of confession from an Orthodox priest.

Anyway, I told a friend of mine yesterday that I also can’t go to Catholic confession because in Catholic eyes, I have been missing Mass for six months and I have no intention to go back, so I am not contrite. He said that I could still go to confession and receive absolution anyway. Is that true? Sounds fishy to me.

Thanks! :slight_smile:

I would say that if you have no intention of returning to the Catholic Church, then you can’t go to confession or receive communion. Of course, if you are converting to Orthodoxy, then you don’t think that the Catholic Church is the true church and I don’t see why you would want to.

Since someone else will undoubtedly ask, why are you considering conversion? Have you looked into an Eastern Catholic Church instead? They may be able to give you what you have found in Orthodoxy while allowing you to remain in communion with the Catholic Church.

Thanks for your answer. That’s pretty much what I figured, but I just wanted to double-check in case I had overlooked something.

Since you asked, I am considering conversion because I don’t feel there is strong enough evidence in the early church to support the Catholic beliefs about the pope. But that’s a topic for another thread :slight_smile:

[right]JMJ + OBT[/right]

Dear wynd, may Our Lord bless you as you discern His holy will for you. May the prayers of the Blessed Virgin daily strengthen you and draw you closer to the Heart of Our Eucharistic Lord, and may her prayers help you to stay in the boat with Peter! :slight_smile: