Son's girlfriend

Hi,

Newbie here. I am a Catholic married mother of three. My question concerns my oldest son who is 20 years old and a great Catholic young man. He met a girl this summer that he says is his future wife. The problem is distance. She lives several hundred miles away. We have met her once and she seems to be a great young lady. My son wants her to come visit over their Christmas break (they are both in college) and asked if she could stay with us. I am on the fence about this. My husband is adamantly saying no in consideration that this would be an “occasion of sin”. I can see that point but I also want to be hospitable and welcoming to my son’s girlfriend. It is causing major turmoil in my family. I want to be united with my husband but my son senses that I am not in total agreement with him. I’d appreciate any responses or insight any of you may have for me. Thank you, Kimberly

I stayed overnight with my husband’s family several times while we were dating in college. We had separate rooms, of course.

I would think that having this young lady in your home would offer no more of a near occasion of sin for your son than the two of them already experience while they are away at college.

My husband and I stayed at each other’s homes while we were dating in college. I stayed in their guest room and my brother gave up his room. It was a great way to become close with each other’s families. He has more freedom at college than he does at home - I’d agree with the above poster that college would present more of a temptation than being at home under your supervision!

It doesn’t seem like an obvious occasion of sin, as long as they take separate rooms, and are seen to do so by any younger siblings.

However, if your husband is dead against it, it would probably be better to follow his spiritual leadership of the family, than to have your son use your uncertainty to undermine your husband’s firm conviction.