Speechless

This is my first time. I am in charge of lectors in my parish along with another man. He said that there should be two lectors at Sunday Mass but I disagreed without really knowing. He said (I believe) this is a statement in the Lectionary but I cannot find it. It seems unnecessary to have two lectors in our Mass. Please, help me.

[quote=Philip Knob]This is my first time. I am in charge of lectors in my parish along with another man. He said that there should be two lectors at Sunday Mass but I disagreed without really knowing. He said (I believe) this is a statement in the Lectionary but I cannot find it. It seems unnecessary to have two lectors in our Mass. Please, help me.
[/quote]

First of all W E L C :wave: M E.

I never heard of such a thing … I do know LECTOR (singular tense) is used 38 times in the GIRM (General Instruction for Roman Mass).

However, GIRM paragraph 109 reads: If there are several persons present who are able to exercise the same ministry, nothing forbids their distributing among themselves and performing different parts of the same ministry or duty. For example, one deacon may be assigned to take the sung parts, another to serve at the altar; if there are several readings, it is well to distribute them among a number of lectors. The same applies for the other ministries. But it is not at all appropriate that several persons divide a single element of the celebration among themselves, e.g., that the same reading be proclaimed by two lectors, one after the other, except as far as the Passion of the Lord is concerned.

Glad you are here…we hope you stick around for awhile.

He is correct. In an ideal world there should be two lectors. It is liturgically proper. However, as you must know from experience, getting people to commit to lay ministries in the parish can be difficult.