Spiritual directors

I am discerning a vocation as a sister. I am new in my parish, and in fact , until last NOvember, have been attending an out of town Latin Mass for years, so in this parish, strictly “novus ordo”, I am not known.

Part of my discernment with a particular community requires a spiritual director. Going back to the Latin mass priest, a dear friend, is out of the question since that group is not “in communion with Rome”

I thought it would be easy to get an appointment with a priest for a few 30-minute sessions, but not so. I have called the parish office several times. No priest appointment, but one of the activities directors gave me the phone number of a married couple. For spiritual direction as discernment for a vocation as an older woman? I am in my 60s, going thru an annulment, children grown and gone, looking at the last section of my life on Earth, to make it as compassionate and fruitful as it can be…

I’m no saint so it’s not like I’m expecting a priest who will listen raptly to my every thought, but come on, why is it so hard to see a priest? I am not OK with discussing my deepest spiritual life with a married couple, esp regarding my current discernment.

Do I just not understand the “modern” church approach to spiritual direction? AS a convert, the Latin Mass priest was as close as I got, though when I converted in 2001, the “NOvus ordo” priest at that time was available for appointments. Those few appointments were key in my coming to the CAthlic faith with some understanding.

This week I attended another church thinking I will change my new membership to teh church across town where a priest might be available. I’m not asking for the moon here. Why is it so hard to see a priest? I know they are busy - even a deacon would do I guess, but sheesh, somebody! Advice?