SPLIT: Mormon teaching and Trinitarian baptism

I’m not a Protestant, so I didn’t take any personal offense. This is more of a general respect thing. From your quote in the OP (starting “Protestants don’t have a Deposit…”) you make several blanket statements, such as

1. Protestants don’t have a Deposit of Faith
  2. nor do they have Liturgy (or Liturgical Calendar)
  3. they don’t really have doctrines.
  4. They see the Christian faith as something we all individually derive from scratch for ourselves, with each of us deciding what is and is not doctrine.

None of these statements are true for all Protestant groups, or even most of them.

Well then let me ask you this. Are you what’s known as “a true blue” Mormon?

Getting to know people is great and I’m all in favor of it, but isn’t it a fundamental Mormon belief that Jesus was not god but became God here on this earth and that faithful Mormons can do that same thing on other worlds?

Also, can you please explain to us Mormon teaching on the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit?

These may seem off topic but they are directly related to it.:thumbsup:
Thanks in advance.

Could you help me understand how this relates to the topic at hand? Mormons aren’t even Protestants. (I’ll gladly answer your questions, I’m just trying to figure if this is right venue or a new thread would be better).

Sure! :slight_smile:

You see, Mormon teaching on the Trinity and deity of Jesus is relevant to this topic with regard to validity of baptism.

The question of being a “true blue” is just so I know how closely you follow your faith. No offense intended at all.

I too considered the possibility of a new thread, but if we keep it in this context it should be fine.

Thanks.:thumbsup:

I think a new thread would be best, since this thread is about Protestants. (I’m big on trying not to de-rail)

Jesus is God, the Son of God to be specific.