Spontaneous Knowledge of Other Languages

I was wondering what the Catholic Church’s exact teaching is on the spontaneous knowledge of a foreign language. In the Bible, the apostles speak in other languages once they receive the Holy Spirit at Pentecost, so this would lead me to think that it is something that could be considered miraculous. However, in my religion class this past semester, we watched a video on exorcism and the priest in the video said that one of the signs that someone might possessed is that they suddenly are able to speak in a language foreign to them. I was wondering what the exact Church teaching is on such a phenomena in light of seemingly contradictory information.

P.S. I’m new to this, so I’m sorry if this is in the wrong area of the forum.

Both the Holy Spirit and angels (good or bad) can give special knowledge. There is no contradiction here.

+1 If it is not from purely human teaching, it has its origin in the spiritual realm. The Church therefore, discerns all such cases carefully.

There have been times when I’ve wanted it. Especially when I felt unprepared for one of my Russian tests :stuck_out_tongue:

We need to keep in mind that the church also says that speaking in unknown languages is also a symptom of possible demon possession.

It’s important to discern which is the case and not be taken in by charlatans and fakes who may display these “gifts” in order to promote themselves as spiritual or to propound some sort of false private revelation.

What you are referring to is called ‘xenoglossy’ or ‘xenoglossia’ - There are in however, no known provable cases of xenoglossy ……anywhere.