SSPX

I use to belong to them. What is the whole thing going on with them now?

I am not an expert on this issue, but I will share my understanding of the current situation.

The SSPX Bishops are not excommunicated and the Society is not in schism. They are recognised as fully Catholic and part of the Catholic Church; although their status is canonically irregular. As far as I understand, SSPX masses are valid but illicit. However, SSPX priests lack the jurisdiction to hear confessions or officiate at weddings.

I would say the SSPX is individuals, that formerly had recognition by the Church as an association, but not at present. In other words, there are individual bishops and priests with valid ordination, but who are currently (from the Church’s point of view) unassigned. Religious can be formal members, laity cannot be formal members but some are very much attached. There is no one status that covers all these individuals; one priest may be leaning towards sedevacantism, another may be trying to respond to Pope Francis as best he can. Some laity go to their Masses out of love for the Latin Liturgy, others may go for that, and other reasons. We are not in a position to judge what lights this individual may be responding to, or what other motivations that other person has. One chapel is different from another chapel, in terms of how much they adhere to the Catechism, or to the Pope and bishop bashing that goes on in a few circles.
There is no one “status”. I doubt if there ever will be.

They’re trying as best they can to be Catholic.

Are you a priest? The SSPX is a clerical society, and as such is only comprised of priests and bishops. There are religious houses aligned with them, and there are lay people who frequent their chapels, but the SSPX, strictly speaking, is only made up of priests.

-ACEGC

If the SSPX are not in schism, who could possibly be in schism?

The Christians not following Catholic teaching.