St John 6:39 and eternal security

Last week, I met with the pastor of the Reformed church that I had been attending for the past 4 years. During the discussion he brought up St John 6:39 as “proof” for eternal security.

Now this is the will of the Father who sent me: that of all that he hath given me, I should lose nothing; but should raise it up again in the last day.

Matt Slick from CARM has also used this verse in support of eternal security (see here). They claim that if you can lose your salvation, then that means that the Lord Jesus has failed.

What is a good Catholic response to it? I brought up in the discussion the fact that the early Church did not interpret the verse this way (as far as I know, the doctrine of eternal security/perseverance of the saints did not exist until the sixteenth century). How else would you respond to this?

You will get some good answers from others addressing this directly.

For me, since all protestants dont believe this then they should iron this out first among themselves. Once they are on the same page and unified on this issue a dialogue might be prudent. Untill then, what entity is it that you would be trying to convince that speaks for all protestants?

Peace!!!

It’s just a verse about a certain group of Jesus’s followers at the time-and He, alone, knew who they were. And He, alone, knows who any present and future such followers might be. In any case we cannot presume, with any kind of absolute certainty, to be among those the Father has given Him, to be among those who will persevere, to be among those whose names are written in the Book of Life, to put it another way.

This is sort of what Ive said in a few other threads, if Jesus comes and dies on the cross for all of our sins, has the holy spirit inspire the bible, etc and yet a majority of people willingly choose the enemy (by choice or making no choice)…something wrong about that imo.