St Luke 14.25

I do not understand the English version of today’s Gospel : " if any one comes to me without hating his father and mother…"
The French version says:" if you do not prefer me than…", the Spanish version says:" if you do not love me more than…" The Portuguese version says:" and if you do not have more love …"

Jesus asked us to love even our enemies, how can He ask us to hate our parents?

How can we explain such a difference in translation of the Gospel?
To love more or to prefer is understandable but to hate…

Many thought they would eat bread in God’s kingdom just because they were of the Jewish race. Jesus was correcting that.

It is not a matter of who your mother and father were but how well you follow Jesus.

-Tim-

It’s just Luke’s Greek reflecting the Semitic language (presumably Aramaic) in which Christ presumably spoke these words. From what I’ve read (I have no personal knowledge of these languages) it was impossible to say “love this less than that” in ancient Hebrew or Aramaic. Instead you had to say “hate this and love that.” People would understand what you meant by the context.

From what you say, the French, Spanish, and Portuguese versions have translated the passage loosely and interpretatively, giving the underlying thought but not the words of Christ. In my opinion this is a mistake, since St. Luke himself chose the opposite approach, preserving Christ’s Semitic form of expression even though Greek was perfectly capable of saying “love me more” or “love them less.” The English translation has preserved the Semitism, leaving it up to the pastor to explain the meaning when it comes up in the mass.

GREGORY. (in Hom. ut sup.) How the hatred of life ought to be shewn He declares as follows; Whosoever bears not his cross, &c.*

He that loveth father or mother more than me, is not worthy of me; and he that loveth son or daughter more than me, is not worthy of me. (Mt 10:37).