Starting a Catholic Club and there is opposition

I hope I am asking this question in the right place. I am a second year medical student. At our school there is a Christian Medical Association. A good enough group but not at all in tune with the Catholic teachings. A friend of mine, a Catholic, joined and they asked everyone to sign a Protestant Creed (not sure what that is because they are so divided). She rufused and she said for a while she felt very unwelcomed by some at CMA. Another thing that I was not happy with is that they give out a list of churches at the beginning and I don’t think any of the churches were Catholic.

However, I found out most of the above after my husband (a first year) and I decided to start the Catholic Club. There is a national Catholic Medical Association that our Student chapter will be a part of (the only other one is in Chicago). The reason that we started looking into starting this Catholic Club was because during our ethics classes we found that the Catholic point of view was almost admonished. Also, we are from a part of the US where there are many immigrants many of them Catholic and we feel that as future physicians our faith should be understood so that our Catholic patients can be helped in a way that respects their culture and faith.

Another negative about the CMA is that in the 2 years that I have been there, they have never had a Catholic priest or nun come talk at their meetings.

I sent out a school e-mail asking all who are interested to respond. I have 20 people that are very interested. Even a CMA officer e-mailed me and wanted to work jointly with us on future projects and asked if I needed any help. Very Christian of him I though. However, I got one e-mail from 4th year asking why is this club needed. He said the following: