Still in sins as a Protestant?

Hey guys,

I’m currently a Protestant, but I am studying the Catholic faith. What is the Catholic Church’s view of me? David Currie in Born Fundamentalist, Born again Catholic said that the Catholic Church view Protestants as fully Christian, but with only 80% of the truth. Is this true?

Also, an Episcopalian friend of mine, who knows I am studying Catholicism, told me that I am still in my sins, from the Catholic perspective, since I had never gone to confession. Is this true. I was baptized two years ago, so what about my sins before my baptism? What about my sins between my baptism and the present?

Thanks in advance

Micah

[quote=BigTurkey]Hey guys,

I’m currently a Protestant, but I am studying the Catholic faith. What is the Catholic Church’s view of me? David Currie in Born Fundamentalist, Born again Catholic said that the Catholic Church view Protestants as fully Christian, but with only 80% of the truth. Is this true?
[/quote]

Pretty much.

Also, an Episcopalian friend of mine, who knows I am studying Catholicism, told me that I am still in my sins, from the Catholic perspective, since I had never gone to confession. Is this true. I was baptized two years ago, so what about my sins before my baptism? What about my sins between my baptism and the present?

Thanks in advance

Micah

Your Episcopalian friend needs to learn a little more about the Sacrament of Confession (BTW, many Episcopalians – though not a majority – make sacramental confessions; I used to do it all the time). Baptism wiped your slate totally clean. The only sins you are “in” are those since your baptism. If you come into the Church, your first confession, before you are received and confirmed, will need to cover only the period since your baptism.
So, that’s just about nothing – right?

[quote=BigTurkey]Hey guys,

[/quote]