Strong love for God

Last September I had strong spiritual experience that has changed me from my soul out. I see, think and feel everything differently. It is all good and I am happier than I have ever been. I am at peace and am in love with God more than I can explain.

I had been grieving the loss of my wife, Fran for 7 years. One day the pain became so strong that it overwhelmed me. I could not stand it. I cried to God for help. As soon as I finished my plea for help, I felt the pain being lifted from my heart and I was filled with a love that was so powerful, warm and perfect. I can’t really explain how it felt. It was the most intense feeling of love I had ever felt.

Today, that love is still with me. Some days it is stronger than other days, but it has never left me. This last week the feeling was so strong that I could feel tears starting to form in my eyes. My heart is so full of love for God, I have trouble thinking. It is just wonderful.

I have been praying to God asking Him, “What would You like me to do?” I have given everything that is me to God. I am willing to do anything. I have not received an answer yet. I feel a compellation to do something, but what?

What can I do? Has God got something planed for me or am I having a nervous breakdown? I am 66 years old, but feel like I am 40. I plan to talk to my priest, but I wanted to see what you might suggest.

I had a very similar experience last summer with regards to God pulling me out of a low-point in my life (I'm 24). I also experienced that same, over-powering love that you are describing. I really believe that what you are feeling is a taste of what lies ahead for us all in heaven.