Studying and school-work on Good Friday?

I’m a law student and I generally abstain from all schoolwork on Sunday and any Holy Day. Is the same kind of observance proper for the Easter Triduum, especially Good Friday and Holy Saturday? Neither are Holy Days of obligation, so I don’t know what is best. I know that they are both highly penitential, and I intend on, of course, fasting, attending Mass/Communion, doing plenty of prayer, abstaining from most “fun” things that might make up my day, etc., but I also have a tremendous amount of schoolwork to do and, of course, get virtually zero “enjoyment” out of it all.

Any thoughts?

My thoughts: don't be scrupulous.

[quote="Colorad007, post:1, topic:320659"]
I'm a law student and I generally abstain from all schoolwork on Sunday and any Holy Day. Is the same kind of observance proper for the Easter Triduum, especially Good Friday and Holy Saturday? Neither are Holy Days of obligation, so I don't know what is best. I know that they are both highly penitential, and I intend on, of course, fasting, attending Mass/Communion, doing plenty of prayer, abstaining from most "fun" things that might make up my day, etc., but I also have a tremendous amount of schoolwork to do and, of course, get virtually zero "enjoyment" out of it all.

Any thoughts?

[/quote]

Study does not comprise the sort of servile work that is to be avoided on Sundays and Holy Days, being neither paid nor manual labour. Besides which, as a lawyer myself, I know how precious every extra minute spent studying can be for a law student.

Besides which, Good Friday is not even a Holy Day of Obligation. You are permitted to work just as you would on any weekday and not obliged to attend liturgy or sacrifice anything out of the ordinary beyond the required fast and abstinence.

Having said all this, if you can make up the time on other days, I am all in favour of not studying on Good Friday.