Studying Psychology

I’ve just started a Psychology course but am wary that it might conflict with Church teaching - are there any Catholic Psychologists out there who can give me some advice? Will I be downgraded for defending the Churches position on any issues?

I studied Psychology at a secular school. There's a lot of goofiness out there, but there's a lot of good stuff, too. The important thing is to keep praying, studying, and growing in your faith while you complete your studies. If something sounds "off", spend some time thinking and praying about it. Consult a priest.

You also have to learn to pick your battles. You can't necessarily chime in every time a professor says something in opposition to our faith. And if you do chime in, you want to make sure you know what you're talking about. :)

You might consider contacting the Institute for the Psychological Sciences. They are the premiere Catholic graduate school for Psychology. If you want to pursue further studies in Psychology, it's a great place to go.

I teach an Introductory Psychology course. I tell my students on the first day that in this course you are here to learn the basics of this discipline. At the end of this course you may disagree with some of the theories you will hear or all of the theories in this course. In exams you will not be asked what your "opinion" is of Freud or BF Skinner's theories, but you will be asked what WERE the theories they proposed.

You cannot effectively discuss or debate other points of view unless you know what the other point of view is saying.

As far as education is concern, I am a firm believer that only hearing what you are familiar or comfortable with will keep you in a "bubble". You have an opportunity to move out of your "comfort zone", hear what other people have to say, and if you feel they are anti-Catholic you will reach that decision based on the facts.