Sui Juris transfer

Hello all,

I'm sure that this question has been asked hundreds of times but I'll ask again :)

I was born and raised in the Latin Church. We are lucky to have an Eastern Catholic Church in our city and over the last 5 or 6 years I have been regularly attending Divine Liturgy. I started with going once a month, then twice, and now I am a regular.

I am drawn to the Ruthenian Church and was wondering how long a transfer from one sui juris Church to another? I know that it is not a necessary thing but as a father I feel this is the Church that I wish my daughter to belong too.

I know that the best thing to do is just speak to my pastor about this but it's Wednesday and with work and all (I'm a teacher and we are nearing the end of the year, yay!) I just will not get around to it until the weekend. If anyone has gone through this I would love to hear your stories and for those who were born and raised in one of the Eastern Churches, your thoughts :)

Thanks everyone!

It would take no time at all, normally. The pastor will request your transfer to your current Latin bishop and your soontobe Ruthenian bishop. As soon as the documents are signes, you are official - considering you have been a regular participant for so many years, the paperwork should just be a formality. Father David or Father Sebastian can add more detailed info on the subject.

[quote="SyroMalankara, post:2, topic:443366"]
It would take no time at all, normally. The pastor will request your transfer to your current Latin bishop and your soontobe Ruthenian bishop. As soon as the documents are signes, you are official - considering you have been a regular participant for so many years, the paperwork should just be a formality. Father David or Father Sebastian can add more detailed info on the subject.

[/quote]

[quote="SyroMalankara, post:2, topic:443366"]

[/quote]

Hello again,