Sunday Obligation and Homestay

First off I’m a high school student and a sort of “revert” to the faith, I never really left the Church but only this summer did I truly come back in to the fold.
This June I plan to go on a homestay experience to Japan. I will most likely not be staying with a Catholic family (I have some choice in who I stay with inside the program, but I have a particular friend that I will probably stay with).
Do I still have a Sunday obligation?
I could make a note that as a Catholic, I would like to attend Mass…

Thanks in advance.

This is the rough draft I have come up with for a paper I need to submit on special concerns:

For coming to Japan, since I have hosted {Japanese Student} in America, I would like to meet and stay with her family when I come to Sera Prefectural High School. …] As for special consierations and things I would like to do, I am a Catholic, and so if it is not too much of a problem, I would like to go to Sunday mass. That way I can see what it is like to be a Catholic in Japan. However, I am looking forward to the experience and program whatever it may be and I express my sincerest gratitude and thanks for the opportunity.

Is what I have written sound from a Catholic point of view? :confused:

Thanks again.

You should take up the Mass question with a priest before you leave the States. I lived in Japan for a year and was able to attend Mass at the Navy base where my husband was stationed at the time, you can get permission to go on a military base for Mass if there is one near you. I also attended Mass at a Marynoll Mission. It was in Japanese, but the Mass is the Mass. The Japanese are very gracious to their guests, and I’m sure they will find a Catholic Church for you.

Thanks - I definitely planned on talking to my priest anyways!

www.masstimes.org

Find the city and go from there!

masstimes.org/dotnet/showchurches.aspx?type=CITYRADIUS&q=&country=Japan&city=Tokyo&countrycode=JP&statecode=