Supporting A Friend?

Hi, I’m a college student who was recently Confirmed into the Church and I have lots of questions! Please bear with me as I give you the background details…

I have a friend who is a former, pretty staunch atheist. However, she recently has accepted Christ and now goes to a nondenominational, independent church near our school. Tomorrow, she is going to be giving her testimony during her pastor’s sermon. I really would like to be there for this, as it is something that is important to her, and I’d like to support her because I know she would do the same for me.

I was planning on of course still attending Mass beforehand, and then going to this service afterwards. My dilemma is that I almost feel like a bad person for attending this church because it is not Catholic! Is it wrong for me to attend this church, even though I’m there to support my friend? I know that I cannot take communion at this church because it is not Catholic, so how can I politely decline when it comes time for communion?

Thanks for all and any advice, and God Bless!

[quote="FightForFaith, post:1, topic:289921"]

I have a friend who is a former, pretty staunch atheist. However, she recently has accepted Christ and now goes to a nondenominational, independent church near our school. Tomorrow, she is going to be giving her testimony during her pastor's sermon. I really would like to be there for this, as it is something that is important to her, and I'd like to support her because I know she would do the same for me.

[/quote]

Please go - not only will you be helping your friend in her faith, your will be helping your own faith.

To hear the testimony of a former atheist that you respect could be very powerful.

The easiest way to decline a communion is to just stay seated in the pew, or if you're in a row of people, get up to let everybody else out and then sit back down. If your friend asks why, then you have a good opportunity to explain and educate.