SUZUKI VIOLIN Method classes across the country, or music camps?

Hello!

I am not sure if this is the right area.:o
I was hoping to get an opinion & or feedback from any of you that have participated in a SUZUKI music camp/workshop ? Did you go for yourself or was it for your child? How old was your child?

If so, in what part of the country did the camp take place, what instrument, violin or piano ?
Were you happy with it? Would you recommend it to others?
Was it worth the money spent?
I would appreciate any feedback & or advice on this.

In addition, if any of you have taken or have your children learning an instrument with a SUZUKI method type of teacher, what has your experience been with that as well?
At what age did they start, how old are they now, how have they progressed so far?
Thank you,
God Bless :slight_smile:

I’m a pianist, and I am the chair of an annual music competition for children and teenagers in our city.

I don’t have personal experience with Suzuki, but I know a lot of families who do have experience with it.

It works. It works well and it’s enjoyable.

Many of the competitors in the high school division of our competition learned to play (mainly strings and piano) by the Suzuki method, and they are fabulous musicians.

One young man that I know started Suzuki violin when he was 3. By the time he was 13, he was playing (for money) at local restaurants.

It seems that many Suzuki method instrumentalists start when they are very young, around 3 or 4. It doesn’t seem to hurt them in any way. And there are some who start later, too, and they do well.

My daughter learned to play piano and violin the old-fashioned way, from a elderly teacher who started at the beginning and taught her to read music. She kept it up for several years and then decided to quit the instruments and take voice lessons. Now that she is grown, she wishes that she had continued piano.