Take a minute to introduce yourself before Mass begins

I visited a Church the other day and the music minister asked us to introduce ourselves to our neighbors nearby us. Now sometimes I pray before Mass. What if I had been kneeling and praying? That would have been kind of intrusive because everyone stood up and started talking.

I changed parishes about 5 years ago because of this very thing. I'm not into "glad-handing" at Mass. Thought thats what the parish hall was all about.

"Hello, I'm a pro-life Conservative Republican." :)

Yes, I've actually introduced myself this way when the priest had us turn to greet our neighbor right before Mass.

One guy who had been sitting next to me actually moved to another part of the pew after my introduction.

Oh well ...
:D

I agree, but sadly very few people take advantage of that. We had monthly pancake breakfast at my previous RC parish and we would go all the time. We never really gotten to know anyone, just a few random conversations.

I understand why this is happening and am saddened that it has to come to this.

We should be “taking a minute” to thank God for the Sacrifice of His Son that saved us from death…not getting to know the person sitting next to us! The Mass is about Christ the Head, not each individual cell of His Body! Find a new church with a Priest who is part of the ROMAN CATHOLIC APOSTOLIC (i.e. follows the Magisterial teachings regarding the conduct those in attendance–note not in assistance) CHURCH. I’m so tired of the mockery we have made of Our Lord’s salvation for us. These priests and those bishops who allow such nonsense need to be censured! I realize that the Church will never end, but I had no idea how tiny it could get…