Taking Care of Elderly

Shortly after college I landed a job close to my grandfather. Being that I did not have the financial resources to rent in the area, he took me in and I have been staying with him since (about 2 years). While I was financially capable of renting my own place a few months into my new job, I decided to stay with him as I realized it was becoming harder and harder for him to live on his own (my grandmother has been deceased for many years). While I don’t consider myself a full time care taker, (he is not at that point yet) I do cook dinner every night, clean, buy groceries, drive him to the doctors, ect. - activities he has trouble doing on his own. He is set on living in his house for the rest of his life, and will not entertain moving to an assisted living apartment (& I respect his wishes on this), but this has put me into a situation where I feel I will stay with him unless he changes his mind on living arrangements or allow a full-time helper to come in in lieu of my absence. While I embrace this opportunity with an open heart and enjoy the time we spend together, I struggle with the idea that I am growing older and not perusing any vocational path due to my responsibilities (I am now in my late twenties). I would never entertain dating/courtship as I feel I need to be in a place where I am on my own and where the vocational path would not detract from another important responsibility (taking care of my grandfather). I am beginning to realize there is no easy solution to this, and I don’t mind dying to myself and my ambitions for the near future if this is God’s will for me at this point in my life - however I’m not sure and the pressure I feel by not pursuing my vocation seems to mount. I guess I would like feedback on other’s similar circumstances or any advice people can offer.

Much thanks in advance!

I commend you for taking on this beautiful responsibility. :slight_smile: