Tattooing and Catholicism

Hello all.

I have recently (June '08) begun attending Mass as I am married to a Catholic and have a young daughter who was in need of baptism.

Somewhere along the line of attending the pre-baptism classes I re-discovered faith I’d long forgotten about and am now attending our parish RCIA with the hope of being confirmed at the Easter Vigil.

I’m really enjoying the trip so far, but the one thing that troubles me a little is my occupation, I’m a tattoo artist.

From the research I’ve done so far I know that large scale tattooing is probably inadvisable, but also that the Church has no official doctrines on tattooing. I know of the part of the bible that speaks of not marking that which was made in God’s image. But aside from this I see no other restrictions.

Thus far I’ve not been asked my occupation, and my parish seems pretty liberal, but I am so happy in my new found faith that I fear being cast out if anyone finds out what I do!

All advice gratefully received

Nothing wrong with tattoos or giving them!

here is some more info if you care to read it…
cuf.org/FaithFacts/details_view.asp?ffID=233

You have to make a living somehow. :rolleyes: If you’re a tattoo artist and you’re good at it (and you’re getting payed for it :wink: ) keep doing it! :smiley: I’m still contemplating on getting a tattoo when I’m of age… but I think too much of the pain :eek: and what it’ll look like when I old. :frowning:

But if it’s really bugging you:

A friend of mine wants to be a tattoo artist. His grandmother did not like it one bit until he told her to just think of it as “decorating your temple” rather than whatever Leviticus said. :o

Ironically Yours, Blade and Blood

Thanks, thats very nice of you, and yes, I am at the top of my trade quality speaking.

I work in a very reputable shop in a pretty conservative part of England, and we have always refused any requests for tattoos that we consider racist etc.