Teach Sunday School?

I’m undecided. If you have read any of my other posts I’m going back to school to become a teacher. I’m majoring in early childhood and elementary education. I’m very excited to be starting school August 20th. I joined the Church this past Easter and want to get involved some how. Not really sure where though. I thought about seeing if they need any help with Sunday school. I want to teach 2nd grade or younger. I think that would be a good experience for me to start out with doing a Sunday School class. That might even help me in the long run get a good teaching job…maybe in a Catholic school…

Not sure if I posted in the right area…Please move if this is the wrong place! :smiley:

Call the DRE today! I know that we so need help with CCD here. 1st and 2nd grade are very important, that is pre-1st Communion and those kids are so honest and sweet. It is rewarding and tough and if you are called - answer that call.

So is this a call? I guess I just want stuff to hit me like a bolt of lightening.

The reason I chose this major is from help from a Catholic magazine. The dioceses in OK sends out a newspaper and it lists job openings and I just happened to open it to the job pages and see a all the job openings for teachers! Thats when I decided to become a teacher.

Now the dumb question…I’m new so sorry for my stupid question…What does DRE and CCD mean? :o

DRE is the Director of Religious Education. This person is in charge of CCD (Catholic Sunday School, PRE - Parish Religious Ed - or by any other name) for your Parish, name and number should be on your Sunday bulletin, if not just call up the Parish office and ask to speak to the D.R.E.

A call can be that teeny little whisper :slight_smile: