Teaching 7th and 8th graders Catechism

So, I was asked to teach 7th and 8th graders Catechism for two weeks. I will be entering seminary in the fall and my vocation director thought this would be some good experience for me before I enter seminary. I have never done anything like teaching kids before and I was wondering if anyone had some experience or advice they could share to me. I just have this fear of teaching kids about our faith and them not having interest or me not knowing everything they want to know. I know this is probably common, but just want to see if anyone has any advice. Thank you.

One thing I can say about that age level is that you either love them or hate them. I am a DRE and I don’t do well with that grade level. Even when I was a regular school teacher I hated teaching those grades. I have a coordinator for that level who loves that age and can deal with them much better than I. Their hormones are raging and they are very influenced by their peers, but they can be very introspective and want to know about religion mainly because it fascinates them and they are searching for meaning. Lecturing them bores them so try to get them talking and discussing things. Two weeks isn’t a long time to get to know the kids. It usually takes them awhile to figure a person out and get into the material.

Teaching is a vocation in and of itself. You may know your faith very well, but not be able to impart the material in a way that it can be received easily. Use you own best judgment. If you are not comfortable with the idea of being a teacher first off, then add in the difficulties that are inherent teaching the early teenager at this stage of their, I would take a pass. If you are able to comfortably address a group of teens, then by all means go for it!.