Teaching a class -- would love some OT scripture help!

Hello everyone,

My college is starting a student taught courses program, so I'm doing a "Catholic Spirituality" one. I'm not an expert on the topic so we will only meet about 8 times for 1h30, and it will be one third lecture and two thirds discussion format. I'm looking forward to talking about this with people, and I feel that I can make a decent presentation of the material.

My goal is to give a good background before I get into spirituality, so I want to do one class on the Hebrew monotheistic conception of God and our relation to Him. I'm planning on drawing from the Psalms mostly, but I don't have a detailed knowledge of them. Thankfully I just spent a week in a monastery going to the liturgy of the hours 6 times a day, so I kind of have a feel for what I could talk about productively.

Could you please tell me which Psalms you think I should have the class read? If you could also point out your preferred translations (from a poetic point of view) that would be great too. For example the KJV psalm 23 is beautiful. The conception of God + the relation to God are what the focus will be. Of course, if you have any other Old Testament recommendations helpful to understanding the Hebraic religion that would be great too!

Regards,

Robert