Teaching CCD

Looks like I’m going to teach 2nd grade CCD at my parish. :eek: Other than being a Girl Scout co-leader for a year, I have ZERO experience. The positive side is that I’ve been doing a LOT of self-education in the Catholic faith recently (learning to refute some anti-Catholic sentiments) :slight_smile: so, I’m feeling fairly confident in the catechism side, but not real sure about KID side! :smiley:

I’m going to have 7 2nd graders. Does anyone have any great advice or words of wisdom they’d like to share? I could sure use the encouragement! :o

I just finished teaching the 8th graders at my parish…it was like hearding cats; I can’t even imagine what 2nd graders would be like. Wish I had some advice…but I don’t.

Good luck, and God Bless,
RyanL

thank you for responding to the call of the Holy Spirit to share your faith with children and youth of your parish. God bless you.
Make use of your catechist guide. it is full of things like, characteristics of 2nd graders, suggested activities to enrich the lesson, additional resources books, songs, videos etc. it may come with a video from the publisher telling you how to use it.

prepare lesson plans, for each unit if not for each chapter. use the suggested syllabus guide from your parish. your catechist manual has a sample lesson plan if your DRE does not provide one.

plan to spend at least 1/2 hour planning for every hour of teaching (more for older grades)

it this year preparing for sacraments? if so are you responsible for the sacramental program (usually another book) or the basic textbook? who handles parent meetings?

when planning lessons if you only have 15 minutes, read the scripture suggested for the lesson and meditate on it. if you only have 30 minutes, read the scripture, and the catechist citations for the lesson. Pray and meditate with them. after you have done that, begin to plan how you will introduce, develop, wrap up, and review each lesson.