Technology is becomming frighteningly intrusive

I saw this article about “augmented reality” applications for cell phones.

cnn.com/2009/TECH/08/05/augmented.reality.phone.apps/index.html

Frankly, this makes me rather nervous and leads me to long to move to some of the places you can see if you go to my profile and look at my photo albums. For those who do not want to do that, the description, “the middle of nowhere” should suffice.)

It is not that I am a technophobic, not at all. I mean I am a computer software developer and database administrator. It is just that this is getting too much. Sensory and information overload. What is wrong with a simple life? Isn’t it okay to not know things?

My question is this…what* DID **we do before cell phones? Before all of this technology?

Right? It’s like info overload. :hypno:*

I think that technology offers a 2:1 ratio of advantages to disadvantages. So I agree, it is overload, but it’s also beneficial in some ways.

I don’t feel like these things should be terrifying at all, but should be looked at as extremely useful. All of the information being displayed is already public, people just tend to get upset when it is all raked together and put in front of them.

Think of the useful applications of such things. If you and your wife are walking through a bustling downtown, and you pan the camera around to see that a local bistro is advertising a dinner special you would like. The possibilities are endless.

Technology is simply a tool that people can do both good and bad with. We have to educate ourselves as to what information is ok for people to see, and how to keep everything else private

Or pan your camera at someone and see how much they paid for their house or when they last refinanced their mortgage and for how much. That information is also public, but should it be so easily obtainable.