That's Not How You Sing It!

I'm no musician by any means but I can sight read. I've noticed something in many parishes. It happens without fail whenever there's singing without a choir or organ. Instead of hymns ending with "quarter note, quarter note, half note" as the notes indicate people sing it like it's "dotted quarter note, eighth note, half note."

For example:
"Close to Je-sus to the last___" becomes "Close to Je-sus to_ the last____."

Why? I try to sing it correctly louder hoping that people will catch on but then people look at me like I'm the crazy one. It's so widespread that I think I may be the one in the wrong. How did this get started and how did it infect every parish? Anybody else notice this?

Not every one can sing on key let alone sing on time. At least they’re singing! I’d give more leeway for my fellow Catholics singing in the pews.

[quote="johnmann, post:1, topic:322451"]
I'm no musician by any means but I can sight read. I've noticed something in many parishes. It happens without fail whenever there's singing without a choir or organ. Instead of hymns ending with "quarter note, quarter note, half note" as the notes indicate people sing it like it's "dotted quarter note, eighth note, half note."

For example:

Why? I try to sing it correctly louder hoping that people will catch on but then people look at me like I'm the crazy one. It's so widespread that I think I may be the one in the wrong. How did this get started and how did it infect every parish? Anybody else notice this?

[/quote]

I think people should focus more on their own spiritual needs at mass and less on whether or not others are singing properly.

[quote="PatriceA, post:2, topic:322451"]
Not every one can sing on key let alone sing on time. At least they're singing! I'd give more leeway for my fellow Catholics singing in the pews.

[/quote]