The 2nd Law fallacy

This is an expansion on something I posted in a different thread, it was off topic and the thread was promptly hijacked. Right up front I want to make clear that I’m not making any comment here about the merits of evolutionism or creationism. I’m ONLY trying to explain why it’s a poor tactic to use a Second Law argument in an attempt to refute evolution. So please don’t start with how Darwin was this or that, don’t talk about the flood or how Piltdown man was a hoax or polonium halos or anything, it’s simply not relevant. Please confine your comments to the Second Law, and provide a clear mathematically valid reason why I’m wrong if you think I am.

I believe I’m qualified by training and experience to speak as an expert on this topic. I hold a Bachelor of Science Degree in Mechanical Engineering (Cum Laude) from a respected university, I got a 98+ in Thermodynamics (similar grades in physics, calculus and statistics), I have 12 years experience in the automotive industry, and I’ve thought about this a lot.

We’ve all heard the argument that the Second Law says that the disorder of a system increases with time, so evolution can’t be true because it would require a violation of physics. This argument is based on a basic misunderstanding, both of what entropy is, and of what the Second Law says and what it means.

Entropy is a state property of matter that describes the availability of heat to do work. Its value is dependent solely on the temperature and pressure of the substance, and it is expressed in units of Joules per degree Kelvin. At absolute zero, a perfect crystal has an entropy of zero. As temperature rises, so does the entropy of the substance. When the substance changes phase (such as when ice melts) its entropy changes even though its temperature does not.