The 7 Churches of Rev

Hello, this is my first post to a forum, so please be gentle. I am a Baptist pastor who is well on the way to Rome. There are some personal issues to deal with before I can convert, but my heart’s there now.
I recently had a theological discussion with my brother, also a Baptist pastor (but definitely not heading toward Rome) in which we bagan discussing Catholicism. It put me in the interesting position of being a protestant defending the Catholic church!
Anyway, he is of the opinion that the church went haywire very soon after the apostles died, and it was the reformation that restored truth to the church.
I stated that I found it illogical, and hard to believe that the church would fall so far, so fast. I believe I had read that in one of the Catholic apologetics books I have.
He then pointed out the 7 churches identified in Revelation, to show that yes, indeed, the church could, and did fall into theological corruption by 90 AD.
My question is, how do you reconcile the claims of the early church being Catholic, with the evidence of theological drift in Revelation? How does the RCC view the 7 churches of Rev.? How can I answer my brother on this one?
I hope this makes sense. I look forward to your replies.

• David

[quote=cloudy56day]Hello, this is my first post to a forum, so please be gentle. I am a Baptist pastor who is well on the way to Rome. There are some personal issues to deal with before I can convert, but my heart’s there now.
I recently had a theological discussion with my brother, also a Baptist pastor (but definitely not heading toward Rome) in which we bagan discussing Catholicism. It put me in the interesting position of being a protestant defending the Catholic church!
Anyway, he is of the opinion that the church went haywire very soon after the apostles died, and it was the reformation that restored truth to the church.