The age of the world according to Protestants

How do protestants that believe that the world is just 6000 years old or so reconcile the moutains of physical evidence to the contrary?

Hi,

Well I believe it to be more like 10,000 years old:D I dont think that there is a mountain of evidence. IMHO carbon dating is flawed. I also believe that Noah’s flood is what caused much of what scientists think took millions of years. Now I am not a scientist and I have not read all the christian books out there that back up my beliefs so I really couldnt give you an intellectual debate on this.:o

There are many christian archeologists that have written exactly about this.

Now, will this topic make or break my belief in God–NO. For me it is about faith. I do not get all hung up on what the scientist say because they constantly change their minds anyway.:thumbsup:

Hopefully someone else can give you more facts.
I ma curious why you directed this specifically at protestants. What does the CC believe? Or any other faith for that matter.

There are many methods other than carbon dating and indeed a mountain of evidence that suggests a much older earth than 10000 years

What would even give you the idea of only 6000-10000 years old? That’s only about as long as man kind on a large scale have been around. I honestly don’t understand or see why. Not sure if I gree with science and the millions and billions and so on, but definately much longer than a few milleniums.

You can TELL that it is old just by the smell of it.
Dirt smells old to me.
WP

Hi,