The Beatles

Should statements like this really be coming from the Vatican?

Vatican: Beatles music better than today’s songs

Many people have a distaste for the Catholic Church because they are under the perception that the church is in the business of instructing people how to think. (For instance, my archdiocese sent a political lobbyist to our parish to tell us specifically how we were supposed to vote in the election.)

Now for the Vatican media to give an opinion on something as subjective as taste in music… Granted this is not coming as a pontifical statement, but the fact that it is coming from the official Vatican media source gives it a certain weight of authority. Does anybody else find this silly?

I think it is utterly ridiculous!! Especially how (and I’m a musician, and sometimes play with a friend who is a professional musician) I do not care for the Beatles music, lame and utterly BORING in my opinon. No emotion whatsoever, not my cup of tea.

That’s my two cents.

In all honesty John Lennon did make a big mistake. The Vatican was gracious enough to forgive him for that. I honestly think the Beatles music is much better and less derrogartory than a lot of music out there today. I don’t get the idea of listening to hip-hop artist talking about there illegal drug addictions, sexual desires and all the cussing. The Beatles’ music may not be everyone’s ideal music but I agree it is a lot better than most of the trash out there today

I don’t care for hip hop. death metal, hardcore, etc. neither. Music is meaningful and therefore should have good lyrics.

A lot of the progressive and power metal groups I listen to have such good lyrics. Very uplifting, beautiful and powerful.

yeah the beatles didnt have ANY drug or sex references in their songs…