The Best Eucharist Debate Stopper Question

I’m still relatively new to the Apologetics scene, but I have had several debates back and forth with Protestants over the Eucharist. Maybe you veteran apologists have already used the following Scripture and question before. In my case so far, the question has ended debates abruptly, it maybe of benefit to you, and hopefully led some of our fellow brothers and sisters to the fullness of faith.

Here is the question posed: If the Eucharist is merely a symbol, then how can one partake of it “unworthily” AND ultimately can “eat and drink judgment on himself”?

Reference Scriptures to start is 1 Corinthians 10:16 to point out how St. Paul views the Eucharist and my strong finish question reference is 1 Corinthians 11:27-29.

By the way look up St. Paul Street Evangelization as it is continuing to expand and grow across the United States by God’s grace. We are starting a chapter here in South West Michigan soon. GOD’s Blessings to you.

I’m not sure how this makes sense.
Just because something is symbolic, doesn’t mean a person can’t be worthy or unworthy of it.
The crosses people wear around their necks and put atop churches are symbolic, but the meaning is no less.

I don’t understand how your two statements from Corinth cannot go together.
Can you explain this more?

Might help if I included the Scripture:

1 Corinthians 11:27-29 “Therefore whoever eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord unworhily will have to answer for the body and blood of the Lord. A person should examine himself, and so eat and drink the cup. For anyone who eats and drinks without discerning the body eats and drinks judgment on himself

It’s taking the concept if we as Cathoics seriously sin we cannot receive the Eucharist unless we are made “worthy” to receive through the sacrament of confession and get back into a state of grace. If we accept the Eucharist “unworthily” when in grave sin, then we risk “judgment” per the above scripture.